MRMedia Group - London's Web Design and Marketing Experts

MRMedia Group Web Design News

Tuesday, 10 November 2009

Another Domain Scam

Both we and our clients have recently received emails from a company in Hong Kong. These emails make out that they are from a registrar of domain names in Hong Kong that is seeking to protect the recipient from a third party who is intending to purchase domain names in various geographies that relate to your company.

For example, for us they might register mrmediagroup.asia or mrmediagroup.com.cn.

These requests are coercion to get you to register these domains with the implied threat that if you don't they'll register them and potentially use them against you. We've found them from a variety of names, all originating from two Hong Kong based companies:
  • www.worldwidenic.org
  • www.hk-net.hk
Our clients have all responded as we expected, by informing them that full use of legal channels would be made for any infringements of copyright, trademarks or IP.

If you are concerned about this, we can help you pre-emptively register domains. Feel free to contact us

Labels:

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home